French Wanderers
Old town Honfleur_colombages_French Wanderers

1h30 – 2,5km

Narrow, cobbled streets, old stones and medieval charm…


Saint-Leonard Church

Saint-Leonard Church

Imposing church, dedicated to St. Leonard, patron saint of prisoners. The first traces of the existence of this church date back to 1186. Following several destruction et reconstructions, styles mix together forming a unique and sumptuous building.

Tripot Garden

This space is an invitation to stroll, a haven of tranquility, in the heart of the historic center from Honfleur. Mixing Story, culture et promenade along the water, with one side zen which inspires serenity. Located on an arm of the Claire, the garden includes numerous promontories and viewpoints over the watercourse, which are optimally highlighted.

The artist Annick Leroy made a fresco in mosaic recalling the work of the corporation of tanners and dyers. She also designed two sculptures fountains.

Open daily from 10h to 19h

St. Catherine's Church

Dating from the second half of the XNUMXth century, theSainte-Catherine church was built by the inhabitants of the city after the departure of the English, during the Hundred Years' War. Having few resources, they used, as raw materials, wood from the Touques forest and their knowledge of shipbuilding.

Classified as a “Historic Monument” in 1879, it has attracted the attention of many archaeologists and historians: it is the largest church in France built of wood with a separate bell tower.

Sainte-Catherine Church is open every day from 9 a.m. to 19 p.m.

In July-August from 9 a.m. to 20:30 p.m.

The Lieutenancy

This prestigious building which sits at the entrance to the Old Basin of Honfleur, has been completely restored and has been open to the public since April 8, 2023. It hosts an Interpretation Center on the Architecture and Maritime Heritage of Honfleur and a residence of artists.

The scenography of the exhibition spaces is designed to offer a immersive and active visit which is aimed at everyone. The route continues on the exterior terraces of the Lieutenancy which allow you to read the landscape and observe the city using virtual reconstructions proposed by binoculars.

It’s also an artists’ residence! Artists (visual artists, writers, photographers, musicians, etc.) are therefore welcomed there for part of the year.

Opening hours

From April 8, 2023 to June 30, 2023 andu September 1, 2023 to November 6, 2023 : from 10 a.m. to 13 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m., last visiting slots at 12 p.m. and 17 p.m. Closed on Mondays. 

July and August : Open from 10 a.m. to 19 p.m., last visit slot at 18 p.m. Closed on Mondays.

From November 6, 2023 to April 8, 2024: Open only Saturday and Sunday from 10 a.m. to 13 p.m. and 14 p.m. at 18 p.m., last visiting slots at 12 p.m. and 17 p.m. 

Annual closing in January

The Old Basin

The whole formed by the Old Bassin, picturesque houses from Quai Sainte-Catherine, the Lieutenancy and l'Saint-Etienne church is certainly what strikes you the most when you visit Honfleur for the first time.

On one side of the Vieux Bassin, on the Quai Sainte-Catherine, a whole series of tall houses forms an original backdrop. These houses, close together, of different sizes, have the particularity of having their upper floors overlooking the rue du Dauphin and the rue des Logettes at the rear, so that they almost all have two different owners. .

Maritime Museum

The Navy Museum is located in the old Saint-Etienne church, on the edge of the Vieux Bassin. Built in the XNUMXth century, the Saint-Etienne church is the oldest in the city.

The models, engravings, and objects on display today are the result of numerous donations and legacies. All bear witness to the activities of seafarers and Honfleur society in the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries: fishing, shipbuilding, large-scale commerce, popular crafts linked to the sea, etc.

Opening time

April to September : 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. – 14 p.m. to 18:30 p.m.
February to November:
weekdays 14:30 p.m. to 17:30 p.m., weekends 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. – 14:30 p.m. to 17:30 p.m.


Closed on Mondays

Museum of Ethnography

Le Museum of Ethnography and Norman Popular Art is located rue de la Prison and includes twelve rooms in which Norman interiors are recreated. You can also see the old prisons as well as quite remarkable collections of old folk art objects.

Useful information

Closed on Mondays


April to September :

10 a.m. to 12 p.m. – 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
October to March:

weekdays: 14:30 p.m. to 17:30 p.m.

weekend: 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. – 14:30 p.m. to 17:30 p.m.


Roncheville Manor

Before the construction of the current building in 1470, there was a residence having belonged to the Bertan family, viscounts of Roncheville and lords of Honfleur. It was Admiral Louis de Bourbon who, after regaining governance in 1470, built the current building.

Au 16rd century, shipowners will settle in the manor and arrange it to make it more functional aspects to their profession. This is how we will see extensions and storage areas appear. storage for goods.

The Salt Granaries

Today, two of the three Salt granaries built in 1670. Most of the stones used in their construction came from the old city walls. Their oak frames are the fruit of the work of marine carpenters of the time. These granaries made it possible to store 10000 tonnes of salt for the gabelle (specific tax on this commodity), salt intended for cod fishing campaigns on the banks of Newfoundland.

Today, they are prestigious buildings and each year they welcome numerous cultural events : exhibitions, concerts, shows, conferences and seminars.

The Salt Greniers are open to the public during shows, exhibitions or even fairs and shows.

Was this content useful to you?